The Virtual Crib - Home Automation Software Forum Index
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroupsLog in
Bluetooth - BT Proximity.exe probs. vCrib v8a
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Reply to topic    The Virtual Crib - Home Automation Software Forum Index » Bug Reports View previous topic
View next topic
Bluetooth - BT Proximity.exe probs. vCrib v8a
Author Message
Onethingafteranother



Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 106
Location: London, UK

Post Bluetooth - BT Proximity.exe probs. vCrib v8a Reply with quote
Help! I'm getting a "Program stopped workig" error when I try to run BT.

Description:
Stopped working

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: CLR20r3
Problem Signature 01: bt proximity.exe
Problem Signature 02: 0.2.3.38256
Problem Signature 03: 49965360
Problem Signature 04: BT Proximity
Problem Signature 05: 0.2.3.38256
Problem Signature 06: 49965360
Problem Signature 07: 12
Problem Signature 08: 0
Problem Signature 09: System.MethodAccessException
OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 2057

I running on Vista Ult SP1 and tried .net 1.1 (sp1), 2.0, 3.0 & 3.5
Tue Apr 21, 2009 1:42 pm View user's profile Send private message
hobbes487



Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 268
Location: Boston, MA

Post Reply with quote
do you have a bluetooth dongle inserted? is it using the microsoft BT stack?

BTP support thread:
http://thevirtualcrib.com/phpbbdir/viewtopic.php?t=267

Usage manual:
http://www.thevirtualcrib.com/wiki/index.php?title=Bluetooth_Proximity

_________________
Brian
Tue Apr 21, 2009 1:55 pm View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Onethingafteranother



Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 106
Location: London, UK

Post Reply with quote
Looks like I need to go shopping!!

Thanks Hobbes



bt.jpg
 Description:
 Filesize:  21.8 KB
 Viewed:  21292 Time(s)

bt.jpg


Tue Apr 21, 2009 3:30 pm View user's profile Send private message
hobbes487



Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 268
Location: Boston, MA

Post Reply with quote
the one you have may work. the problem is most people install the drivers that come with their dongle. you should just plug it in and let windows install drivers automatically. To test yours:

uninstall the broadcom driver
reinsert your dongle
windows should ask if you want it to install drivers - say yes
it should install the "microsoft bluetooth enumerator"
you should be all set to go

if that doesnt work, you may need a new dongle

_________________
Brian
Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:05 pm View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Onethingafteranother



Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 106
Location: London, UK

Post Reply with quote
Ok, been shopping, got a dongle that is using the MS wotsit, but still get the error. Have swapped computers to one that has MS Visual Studio 2008, as this can run debug and this is the error it reports...

System.MethodAccessException was unhandled
Message="vCribAPI.clsvCrib.DB_Connection()"
Source="BT Proximity"
StackTrace:
at Bluetooth_Manager.Bluetooth_Manager..ctor()
at Bluetooth_Manager.Bluetooth_Manager.Main()
InnerException:

I think there must be something more to it then the type of bluetooth devise, because my vWinAmp application does exactly the same thing, as well as a few other vApplications??

Maybe a file was missed out of the v8 install that was present in previous installs? You guys have had it working ok and have been installing files since vCrib began. Have any of you run vWinAmp or vBT on a fresh v8a install. I have the same problem on two computers that I set up and run very differently. The only thing they have in common is they use the same versions of vCrib, vBT and vWinAmp.
Wed Apr 22, 2009 1:17 pm View user's profile Send private message
hobbes487



Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 268
Location: Boston, MA

Post Reply with quote
looks like the error is coming from the vCrib .dll. So the problem is not with the BTP app itself. Its also possible I compiled BTP against a newer version of the .dll. Do you have all the other vCrib apps running fine aside from winamp?

You best bet right now may be to wait for the next version to come out. The API is updated and we can be sure to have the correct versions included with it.

_________________
Brian
Wed Apr 22, 2009 2:30 pm View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Onethingafteranother



Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 106
Location: London, UK

Post Reply with quote
As the correct .dll exsists on one of the previous versions and being that I don't get much time to experiment with vCrib, so don't want to wait and miss any opotunities to use it, would I be able to simply swap the currect .dll with a previous one? It appears a previos version of it is working ok on your machine, so I would have thought it would work ok. OR could you email me you .dll?

CM11A ok
CM51A runtime error
CM17A runtime error
Insteon ok
PhidgetK ok
RFID program stopped working error
Speaker ok
TAPI ok
USBUIRT runtime error
VR ok
vWinAmp program stopped working error
W800RF ok
Zwave.exe unhandle exeption error (vcribAPI.clsvCrib.DB_Connection()

As you can see, I am getting error on quite a few of the apps.
Thu Apr 23, 2009 4:47 am View user's profile Send private message
hobbes487



Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 268
Location: Boston, MA

Post Reply with quote
sent you a PM with it.

_________________
Brian
Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:37 am View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Onethingafteranother



Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 106
Location: London, UK

Post Reply with quote
Thanks for the file Hobbes, but it made no difference.

The file version I had was 1.0.3336.6979. I've just checked and the file you sent me was the same.

There is something wrong somewhere and at least we have remove the worry about the .dll

What download version did you get you apps (vBT / vWinZip) from? Could you send me one of them by IM aswell.
Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:08 pm View user's profile Send private message
hobbes487



Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 268
Location: Boston, MA

Post Reply with quote
Do you have a directory in your vCrib directory called "Logs"? if not, BTP will crash. The directory should be included in the install, but I think it may have been left out. If that doesn't work, i'll send you the version of BTP that I am running.

_________________
Brian
Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:28 pm View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Onethingafteranother



Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 106
Location: London, UK

Post Reply with quote
I have a directory called 'Logs' although there is nothing in it.
Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:56 pm View user's profile Send private message
Onethingafteranother



Joined: 12 Feb 2009
Posts: 106
Location: London, UK

Post Reply with quote
Ok, I now have a working BTP, seems it was my version of the bt exe file that was the issue. Now though I get an sql error (see below) when I try and add a BT device to vCrib. I get the pop up box that allows me to name the device, but it errors when I click "Add" .I have all the latest .net version installled.

There is no mention of BTP in my vCrib.ini file. Does this matter?

Hoobes, could you send me a copy of your version of vWinAmp as well, when you get a moment. Thanks.



net version.jpg
 Description:
My installed .net versions
 Filesize:  6.48 KB
 Viewed:  21348 Time(s)

net version.jpg



bt error.jpg
 Description:
The error I get when I click "Add"
 Filesize:  17.47 KB
 Viewed:  21348 Time(s)

bt error.jpg


Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:25 am View user's profile Send private message
hobbes487



Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 268
Location: Boston, MA

Post Reply with quote
That is definitely an API error. What are you naming your phone? You can't put any quotes or apostrophes in the name.

As for the winamp app, I don't think I can help you. The one I have is from the install and it doesn't work for me either.

_________________
Brian
Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:11 am View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Humanzee



Joined: 22 Aug 2007
Posts: 519
Location: Seattle, WA

Post Reply with quote
FWIW, my BTProximity hasn't been working with 0080a I've been waiting for the next major version to bring it up. Dunno what the error is I assume a version sync issue, I haven't looked in a while.

_________________
vCrib Tester #1, Forum moderator, using INSTEON devices, X10 sensors and remotes via W800RF, All doors are wired with contact closures.
vCrib Wiki
Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:29 am View user's profile Send private message
hobbes487



Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 268
Location: Boston, MA

Post Reply with quote
Crap. Must have included a bad version in the install. I am attaching the one i am using. It has been working flawlessly for a while now.

I have fixed the above issue with having quotes or apostrophes. It will just strip them out.



BT Proximity.zip
 Description:

Download
 Filename:  BT Proximity.zip
 Filesize:  84.21 KB
 Downloaded:  996 Time(s)


_________________
Brian
Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:38 am View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:    
Reply to topic    The Virtual Crib - Home Automation Software Forum Index » Bug Reports All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to: 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
Design by Freestyle XL / Flowers Online.